Cubs beat the Indians in Game 7 thriller to win the World Series

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CLEVELAND – The Chicago Cubs defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-7 Wednesday night to claim their first World Series victory in more than 100 years.

Trailing three games to one in the series, the Cubs rallied to win games five, six and seven. On Wednesday, the Cubs were victorious in a thrilling extra-innings affair.

With the Cubs leading 6-4 in the eighth inning, Indians outfielder Rajai Davis hit a tying, two-run homer off closer Aroldis Chapman.

Davis yanked Chapman’s slider over the wall in the left-field corner with two outs in the eighth inning, capping a three-run inning and pulling the Indians even for the first time since the fourth inning.

The Cubs, managed by Hazleton native Joe Maddon, battled back in the 10th inning with Ben Zobrist putting them ahead 7-6 with a smash down the third base line. Catcher Miguel Montero singled to extend the lead to 8-6.

Rajai Davis struck again in the bottom of the 10th inning, cutting the lead to one before the Cubs finished them off to make history for Chicago.

Fans were watching the game very closely in Maddon’s hometown of Hazleton, hoping to see the Hazleton native lead the Cubs to their first World Series championship in 108 years.

This is the first World Series victory for the Cubs since 1908.

Prior to 2016, the Cubs last appearance in the World Series was in 1945.

The Cleveland Indians have not won the World Series since 1948.

Prior to 2016, the Indians last appeared in the World Series in 1997, when they lost to the Florida Marlins in seven games.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.