live_truck_image_station_ad
Newswatch 16 Live Streaming

NOW with Newswatch 16 replays!

Watch Live as the 2012 DA14 Asteroid Passes Earth

Posted on: 2:02 pm, February 15, 2013, by , updated on: 02:06pm, February 15, 2013


idaPASADENA, Calif. (NASA) — NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST) on Friday, Feb. 15, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named 2012 DA14. NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them.

This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.The half-hour broadcast from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, Calif., will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 2:25 p.m. EST (11:25 a.m. PST/ 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface.

Having trouble watching on your mobile device? Click HERE.

WNEP Facebook
WNEP Facebook

Follow WNEP on Facebook